BIXBI Pet Extends Clean Label Project Certification To Six Cat Kibble Recipes
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get pet supplies delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

BIXBI Pet says six cat kibble recipes have received Clean Label Project certification, bringing its certified dog and cat kibble lineup to 19 recipes. The company says the recipes were tested for contaminants including heavy metals and pesticides; certification does not mean contaminants are entirely absent.

BIXBI Pet says six of its cat kibble recipes have received Clean Label Project certification, bringing the company’s certified dog and cat kibble lineup to 19 recipes. The announcement expands BIXBI’s third-party testing and certification program for cat food, though the company and certifier have not provided recipe-specific test results in the supplied release.

The newly certified products include three Rawbble recipes and three Liberty recipes: Real Chicken; Digestive Health Real Chicken; and Indoor Health Real Chicken and Salmon. The recipes are sold in 3-pound and 10-pound bags, according to the company’s announcement.

Clean Label Project says certification involves testing for contaminants that include heavy metals, pesticides, glyphosate, phthalates, bisphenols and acrylamide. The project says its standards draw on California Proposition 65, European Union regulations, U.S. state and federal regulations, and its own category data. The supplied announcement does not identify the laboratory, give individual results for the six recipes, or describe the testing schedule.

BIXBI said the certification is part of its BIXBI Better Standard, a company framework for formulating, sourcing and testing its products. The company’s broader goal, as stated by CEO Rachel D’Agostino, is to seek certification for its entire product line by the end of 2027. That is a company target, not a confirmation that all products will be certified by that date.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced in a company press release; p…
The developmentBIXBI Pet announced that six cat kibble recipes received Clean Label Project certification, expanding its certified kibble lineup to 19 dog and cat recipes.

Certification Adds a Testing Signal

The announcement gives cat owners another piece of information for comparing foods: an outside certification tied to screening for a range of contaminants. That may be relevant to shoppers who want details beyond ingredient lists, particularly because the BIXBI release says trace contaminants are not generally required to appear on pet-food packaging.

Certification should not be read as a guarantee that a food contains no contaminants. It indicates that recipes were evaluated against the certifier’s standards, but the supplied material does not show the test values, thresholds, or how results for these particular products compare with other foods. Consumers therefore have a certification claim, but not enough published detail here to independently assess each recipe’s findings.

The expansion also follows a period of increased attention to contaminants in pet food. Clean Label Project’s reported findings have prompted scrutiny, but the BIXBI announcement does not establish that the six newly certified recipes were included in that investigation or provide a direct comparison between the investigation’s samples and BIXBI’s certification testing.

Amazon

certified organic cat food

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Dog Kibble to Cat Recipes

BIXBI said the six cat recipes received certification about two months after its first certifications for dog kibble. With the latest additions, the company reports a total of 19 certified dog and cat kibble recipes. The release does not list the other 13 recipes, so the exact division between dog and cat products is not available in the supplied information.

The announcement came days after Clean Label Project released an investigation covering 100 top-selling cat foods from 62 brands, according to the press release. The project’s testing reportedly covered more than 120 contaminants across wet, dry and freeze-dried foods. The release says lead was detected in 99% of samples and arsenic in 94%; those figures refer to that investigation’s tested samples and are not findings about all pet food or about the six newly certified BIXBI recipes.

The release also says BIXBI Rawbble Freeze-Dried Turkey cat food was among the investigation’s products and received the project’s highest purity rating. That product is distinct from the six newly certified kibble recipes. The supplied material does not provide the rating scale, the product’s contaminant measurements, or details that would permit a direct comparison between the investigation and the new certification.

“Cats are discerning eaters, and once they find a food they like, many stay on it for years. Pet parents should be able to trust that what they’re feeding every day is safe.”

— Rachel D’Agostino, BIXBI Pet CEO

Recipe-Level Results Not Published

The press release does not disclose individual contaminant measurements, the certification cutoffs applied to each recipe, or whether test results are publicly available elsewhere. It also does not specify when samples were tested, how often testing must be repeated, or whether certification applies to every production batch.

The investigation figures cited in the release concern its own sample of 100 cat foods. The material does not state whether the six newly certified kibble recipes were included in those 100 products. Nor does it explain how the certification testing relates to that investigation’s methods or results. These details matter when interpreting the announcement: certification is confirmed by the company and certifier, while broader conclusions about comparative safety cannot be drawn from the information provided.

BIXBI’s 2027 Certification Goal

BIXBI says it is working toward Clean Label Project certification for its entire product line by the end of 2027. The company has not provided a timetable for additional recipes or named the next products it expects to submit. Its stated goal will depend on future testing and certification, rather than being a completed commitment.

For shoppers seeking more detail on the current six recipes, the next useful information would be published test results or a clear explanation of the certifier’s thresholds and retesting practices. The supplied release directs readers to BIXBI’s list of certified recipes, but it does not include recipe-level laboratory data.

Key Questions

Which BIXBI cat kibble recipes were certified?

The six are Rawbble Real Chicken, Rawbble Digestive Health Real Chicken, Rawbble Indoor Health Real Chicken and Salmon, Liberty Real Chicken, Liberty Digestive Health Real Chicken, and Liberty Indoor Health Real Chicken and Salmon.

What does Clean Label Project certification cover?

According to the announcement, the recipes were tested for contaminants including heavy metals, pesticides, glyphosate, phthalates, bisphenols and acrylamide. The release does not provide the individual results or thresholds for the six recipes.

Does certification mean the recipes contain no contaminants?

No such guarantee is stated in the supplied material. Certification indicates testing against the project’s standards; the announcement does not say the products are entirely free of contaminants.

How many BIXBI kibble recipes are now certified?

BIXBI says its Clean Label Project Certified lineup now includes 19 dog and cat kibble recipes. The release does not specify the number of recipes in each category.

When does BIXBI expect its whole product line to be certified?

CEO Rachel D’Agostino said the company is working toward certification for its entire product line by the end of 2027. This is BIXBI’s stated goal; the announcement does not confirm that all products will meet it.

Source: rss

Pet-care content is informational — consult your veterinarian for advice about your animal.
HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Petivity Launches Smart Feeder For Cats With A NYC Experience That Feeds Real Shelter Cats

Petivity introduces a smart cat feeder inspired by NYC that supports real shelter cats, blending innovative tech with social impact. Details are emerging.

Cats Have Coconut: Safe Consumption Guide

Curious about cats and coconut? Find out how to safely introduce this tropical treat to your feline friend in our guide!

Why Do Cats Purr? The Science Behind the Purr

Lifting the veil on feline purring reveals fascinating insights into their emotions and health—continue reading to discover what your cat’s purr truly means.

Can Cats Eat Cereal?

Only consider letting your cat eat cereal after understanding the potential risks involved – their health depends on it.